OH MY!…Mama told me there’d be days like this

Image
OH MY!…Mama told me there’d be days like this

Whoa is Me

Well July started out rough. I was feeling really low and quite like a failure – in life.  I had to take a few days to really figure out what the heck was going on with all my self trash-talking and I figured out that what was really bugging me was that I was not in a position to give or buy my husband and family the things I would like to at this time in my life and their lives. Waa waa waa. Image I know someone out there might be saying, “Is that all? That’s what you are crying  about? Walk in my shoes and then you will have something to cry about.”  I realize that things could be so much worse, but these are my shoes and for me giving to those I love is a really big and difficult thing when I can’t do it.

I do know that it was my decision to be self-employed four and a half years ago and not to work for someone else and draw a paycheck, but man this has been quite an experience in being patient and content and determined.  Yup, if you want to have your own business and be your own boss be ready to take the good with the bad.  Be ready to tough it our and keep your eyes on the ball and continue believing in your vision no matter what comes or doesn’t come your way.  I bought a book years and years ago titled, “Do What You Love and the Money Will Come.” I didn’t even realize at the time what that truly meant but I do now. Don’t do it for the money, do it because you love it and that love and passion for what you do will get you through no matter how tough it gets. (that was my entrepreneur advice : )

Bootstrapping It

Bootstrap

I am extremely grateful but I need to remind myself often to be patient and content.  Since we started the business three years ago, everything we make has gone right back into the business. We would like to draw a salary but we intentionally have made the choice to put it all back into the business. The business label for this is Bootstrapping.  So glad it has a label.

We realize that we are both very fortunate not to have to worry about a paycheck at this point but still it wears on me, at least, not to have “my own” mad money like I did when I was not self-employed.  Oh the days, of just walking into any store and making a frivolous expensive buy for myself, my hubby, kids and grandkids just because I could.  I dream of having those days again, and I will have them – of this I am determined.

WOO HOOO!  THERE IS AN UPSIDE

On the up side, me and mom went to the Access to Capital Business Expo put on by VEDC ,(Valley Economic Development Center) a couple of weekends ago.  This really helped to lift my spirits. We got some good information and learned about FREE resources for business owners. Yes, FREE!!! And we got to meet some great people and make new friends. I highly recommend this Expo, for anyone looking to start a business or looking to grow their business.  If you see it being advertised next year around June take advantage and go! I believe this was the 9th annual and it was held at the Sheraton in L.A.  It will really give you a good idea of the resources available and how to access funding for your business.  For more information on accessing help, counseling and financing info for your business needs check out http://www.VEDC.org or SBDC’s (Small Business Development Center) seven office locations through the web or www.SBA.gov as well as SCORE and the SBA.

OUR CUP RUNNETH OVER WITH CREATIVITY

Next great thing was going up to my parents in Northern California to see my dad (he’s been VERY ill). It was good to see dad and mom and spend some quality time with them. I was also able to have a few days to strategize and plan with my business partner, my mom, and work on our new projects for Latin Inspired Designs. As the holidays get closer I will talk more about it and make the big reveal. Hope you like what we are making : ).

Image

All I can say is that we are very excitedImage because we have not seen something like what we are creating. Or at least,  If it exists I haven’t found it.  It’s always exciting to create something new.  We will see what people think about it. Hopefully it comes out as nice as we are trying to make it and that people like and buy it. Good goal, don’t you think?

HOW CAN WE HELP?

We are busy busy girls and very ambitious, that’s for sure. Also on our list of things to do is to prepare our plan to raise funds so that we can award a student with an educational scholarshipImage to help them pay for their school expenses. This has been a goal since we first started the business.  Being on the CSULA Alumni Scholarship Committee for a number of years now has given me such a bird’s eye view of the struggles students have in paying for their educations.  We have all heard about and might have even experienced how expensive it is to pay for a college education, and it is totally worth the money, but still it’s a beautiful thing when a student can get some help based on their hard work and efforts.  What a boost of confidence to know that someone notices your efforts.

Susana Mariach Face close upMy mom and I are both alum of Cal State LA, and we are passionate about education and we want to give back in some way. For this reason we are so excited to be making a special “Silver” edition Mariachi nutcracker doll to be auctioned off and the funds we raise awarded to a lucky college student in March 2014. I will provide more information about this in the coming weeks and months on how you can purchase a ticket and put your name in a drawing to win this special creation.  I can tell you that this nutcracker doll will be made with real silver accessories and will be a one-of-a-kind edition. This is just a sample of our female Mariachi nutcracker in honor my grandmother and our inspiration for our mariachi nutcrackers.

 

TIDBIT OF “INSPIRATION” FOR YOUinspiration_can

I will leave you with this tidbit of good info that you might know about already but I have just discovered and am so excited about. Podcasts! Yup, never really knew how great these are.  One in particular that is soooooo INSPIRING is the Eventual Millionaire, by Jaime Tardy.  Sooooo awesome!!!!! I highly recommend  – it is great listening, very INSPIRING, and you will learn tons that you can apply to your business – if you’ve got one. Otherwise there are some great podcasts on leadership, spiritual guidance, health and oh so much more. I’d love to hear about your favorite podcasts.

Well until my next adventures of being an “INSPIRED” Latina entrepreneur.

Live INSPIRED, seek INSPIRATION and you will be INSPIRATIONAL

Susana #inspired_latina

http://www.latininspireddesigns.com

facebook.com/latininspireddesigns

Leave a comment